Ayako Shirasaki trio - Some Other Time (2013)
  • Ayako Shirasaki trio - Some Other Time (2013)
In cart Not available Out of stock
Not available


Jan Matthies Records (JMR 201301)
Release date August 28 2013
Recorded on May 10 2013, New York, USA

Ayako Shirasaki - piano
Noriko Ueda - bass
Quincy Davis - drums

  1. Sunrise (Ayako Shirasaki)
  2. 3 Steps Forward (Ayako Shirasaki)
  3. Yosaku-与作 (Kiminori Nanasawa)
  4. Some Other Time (Leonard Bernstein)
  5. Oleo (Sonny Rollins)
  6. April in Paris (Vernon Duke)
  7. My Man’s Gone (George Gershwin)
  8. Long Ago and Far Away (Jerome Kern)
  9. Sophisticated Lady (Duke Ellington) – piano solo
  10. Antagata Dokosa – あんたがたどこさ (Japanese Traditional)
  11. Peace of Mind (Ayako Shirasaki)
  12. Hope (Lars Jansson)

"Quite possibly the best take on "Oleo" since Sonny Rollins put it out there! Ayako Shirasaki sets the keys and ears ablaze with her unique blend of class, sass and pizzazz on the thoroughly engaging Some Other Time!"
- Dan Bilawsky, writer for allaboutjazz.com, June 19, 2013

"Ayako Shirasaki on 'Some Other Time' shows yet again that she is a delicate dynamo of poetic energy and taste. Whether playing an original or a familiar standard, Ayako's whisking attack infuses the piano with an emotional, organic quality. In her hands, we hear the instrument sigh, pant, rant and rave―with notes becoming a bouquet of exotic flowers." ―Marc Myers, JazzWax.com

"Shirasaki is a pianist of limitless imagination, displayed on each improvisation and ingenious arrangement. " - Wilbert Sostre, latinjazznet.com

Read more… close